Regularly priced classes are currently $50/person.**
Class sizes are limited, so contact us soon!!
Be sure to "like" us on Facebook to receive a class discount!
We are available to conduct classes at your location for groups confirmed with 10 or more students. Contact us to schedule your class.
**Class prices subject to change at any time.
License To Carry Classes & Events
Most classes are held on Saturday, weekday classes may be scheduled upon request
You can find us every month at the world famous First Monday Trade Days in Canton, TX. Show dates are Thur-Sun prior to the first Monday of the each month. We are located on the covered walkway between Pavilion 4500 and the Dixie House.
Classes have been filling up fast so contact us for space availability. Call or email to sign up for a License to Carry class and receive your complete student packet. Store and gunsmith shop are closed during classes.
David Frost is a license to carry Instructor, certified by Texas Department of Public Safety, located in Rains County, Texas.
License to Carry classes will be posted on the calendar as they are scheduled.
There have been many recent changes to the Texas license to carry, formerly concealed handgun license, laws and the licensing process. Please visit the state website to review these changes. For more information about the State of Texas license to carry program, visit the TxDPS website.
The State of Texas requires electronic fingerprint submission and a background check for all applicants. The state approved vendor for fingerprinting is L-1 Enrollment Services. The cost is $9.95. The closest location to D and J Sales and Service is 1915 Stanford St (YMCA) Greenville, TX. Hours are 8am to 530pm Mon-Fri, closed 12p-1p. Other closest location is 804 E Moore Ave, Ste A, Terrell, TX. Hours are Mon-Thur 8am to 4pm. You may schedule your fingerprinting online or by calling 1-888-467-2080.
D and J Sales and Service charges an instructor's certificate fee of $50 for new applicants, renewals can now be done online through the state website. In addition, the state's fee for a Standard License to carry is $140 and is non-refundable. Active military, or discharged within the last year and felony prosecuting attorneys are NOT charged a state fee. All required forms and fees must be submitted and accepted by the State of Texas in order for the certification class to be completed. (For other types of licenses, including peace officer, veterans and seniors, see the DPS license to carry Fee Schedule.)
Handguns may be available for rent on the day of class for $10 plus the cost of ammunition. If you will need to rent a handgun, please let us know prior to class. Rental is subject to availability.
Click here to apply online for an original license to carry.
To apply by mail, click on the following forms to print and complete.
Mail to: Regulatory Services Division MSC 0245
Texas Department of Public Safety
PO Box 15888
Austin, TX 78761-5888
*Original Application Form
Address and Business History Form
Reported History Form
*Authorization for Release of Records
*Knowledge of Laws and Eligibility Affidavit
*Photo Holder/ID Signature (If applicant holds a current, valid, state issued ID/DL, photo submission is no longer required.)
For assistance in completing required forms, contact D&J Sales and Service.
If you have more questions about the application process, elibility, training requirements, the do's and don'ts of carrying a concealed or open carry weapon, etc, please feel free to contact us or visit the TxDPS CHL FAQ's.